step by step: Fixation of PMMA restorations

In the case presented, the teeth that have been severely abraded or eroded in the occlusal area are to be restored. Before the final restoration can be made, the lost bite height must be reconstructed and the occlusal situation must be stabilized for at least 8 to 12 months. First, the patient is functionally readjusted, usually in a centric condylar position. CAD/CAM-supported temporary restorations made of PMMA are used to stabilize the vertical dimension in the mouth. When it comes to fixing PMMA restorations in the mouth, there are a few material science details that need to be taken into account (see article). In this case, adhesive integration takes place. Surface pretreatment and conditioning is crucial here. A step-by-step example is shown below.

Left: The CAD/CAM-supported PMMA restorations are fitted onto the model. The middle picture shows a close-up view of the model to what extent the hard tooth substance has been abraded/eroded in the occlusal area. The picture on the right shows two of the PMMA restorations used to reconstruct the occlusal dimension.

The inner surfaces of the crowns were marked with a pencil (reason: optimal control for complete blasting with aluminum oxide particles) and then corundum blasted with aluminum oxide particles (50µm) and a pressure of 0,5 bar.

The markings have been completely removed. The adhesive surface is only blown off with oil-free air. SAVE: Do not clean with water after corundum blasting! A silane was applied (here Monobond Plus, Ivoclar Vivadent). Note: Leave on for 1 minute, then blow off. This was followed by the application of a bonder (here Heliobond, Ivoclar Vivadent), without subsequent polymerization. The restorations should then be sufficiently blown off again with oil-free air so that a thin bonding film remains.

The luting composite (here Variolink Esthetic, Ivoclar Vivadent) is applied and evenly distributed on the inner surface of the crown. Note: Cure on all three sides for 20 seconds using an LED curing lamp.

In the picture on the left, two of the PMMA restorations are already bonded. The right image shows all integrated posterior restorations in the quadrant. (Images: Prof. Dr. Daniel Edelhoff)

Authors: Annett Kieschnick, Bogna Stawarczyk, Anja Liebermann

Further information on the topic of “fixing PMMA restorations” here: Link

SAVE THE DATE

Monday, 20 of November 2024
16: 00 18 to: 00 pm

TEAM talk

for dentistry, dental technology, dental technology, science

step by step: Befestigung von PMMA-Restaurationen

step by step: Befestigung von PMMA-Restaurationen

884
0
CAD/CAM-gestützt gefräste PMMA-Restaurationen vor Aufpassung und Politur; Zahntechnische Arbeit: ZTM Otto Prandtner.

Im vorgestellten Fall sollen die okklusal stark abradierten bzw. erodierten Zähne restauriert werden. Vor dem Herstellen der definitiven Versorgung müssen die verloren gegangene Bisshöhe rekonstruiert und die okklusale Situation mindestens 8 bis 12 Monate stabilisiert werden. Zunächst wird der Patienten funktionell neu eingestellt, in der Regel in zentrischer Kondylenposition. Um die vertikale Dimension im Mund zu stabilisieren, dienen CAD/CAM-gestützt gefertigte temporäre Restaurationen aus PMMA. Bezüglich der Befestigung von PMMA-Restaurationen im Mund sind einige werkstoffkundliche Details zu beachten (s. Artikel). In diesem Fall erfolgt eine adhäsive Eingliederung. Hier ist die Oberflächenvorbehandlung und -konditionierung entscheidend. Ein Step-by-step-Beispiel wird unten gezeigt.

Links: Die CAD/CAM-gestützt gefertigten PMMA-Restaurationen sind auf dem Modell aufgepasst. Das mittlere Bild zeigt in der Nahansicht des Modells, wie stark okklusal die Zahnhartsubstanz abradiert/erodiert ist. Auf dem rechten Bild sind zwei der PMMA-Restaurationen zu sehen, mit denen die okklusale Dimension rekonstruiert worden ist.

Die Innenflächen der Kronen wurden mit einem Bleistift angezeichnet (Grund: Optimale Kontrolle zur vollständigen Abstrahlung mit Aluminiumoxidpartikeln) und anschließend mit Aluminiumoxidpartikeln (50µm) und einem Druck von 0,5 bar korundgestrahlt.

Die Anzeichnungen sind vollkommen entfernt. Die Klebefläche wird nur mit ölfreier Luft abgepustet. SAVE: Keine Reinigung mit Wasser nach dem Korundstrahlen! Es wurde ein Silan aufgetragen (hier Monobond Plus, Ivoclar Vivadent). Hinweis: 1 Minute einwirken lassen, dann verblasen. Danach folgte das Auftragen eines Bonders (hier Heliobond, Ivoclar Vivadent), ohne eine anschließende Auspolymerisation. Danach sollten die Restaurationen nochmals ausreichend mit ölfreier Luft abgepustet werden, so dass ein dünner Bonding-Film verbleibt.

Das Befestigungskomposit (hier Variolink Esthetic, Ivoclar Vivadent) wird aufgetragen und gleichmäßig in der Kroneninnenfläche verteilt. 2x 20 s auspolymerisieren mit einer LED-Polymerisationslampe.

Das Befestigungskomposit (hier Variolink Esthetic, Ivoclar Vivadent) wird aufgetragen und gleichmäßig in der Kroneninnenfläche verteilt. Hinweis: Von allen drei Seiten für 20 Sekunden mit einer LED-Polymerisationslampe auspolymerisieren.

 

 

Auf dem linken Bild sind zwei der PMMA-Restaurationen bereits verklebt. Das rechte Bild zeigt alle eingegliederten Seitenzahn-Restaurationen in dem Quadranten. (Bilder: Prof. Dr. Daniel Edelhoff)

Autoren: Annett Kieschnick, Bogna Stawarczyk, Anja Liebermann

Weitere Informationen zum Thema „Befestigung von PMMA-Restaurationen” hier: Link